Stelios Kyriakides has been elected as President of the American Academy of Mechanics (AAM) and Kenneth Liechti has been elected to serve as the Secretary of the Fellows.

Rui Huang, ASE/EM Assistant Professor, was recently awarded a grant of $400,150 by the National Science Foundation for his CAREER (Faculty Early Career Development Program) project entitled, “CAREER: Research Education on Evolving Surface Patterns in Thin Films”.

Stelios Kyriakides has recently been selected to assume the role of Editor of the International Journal of Solids and Structures.

David G. Hull has been elected Fellow of the American Astronautical Society.

Mary F. Wheeler has been selected to receive an Honorary Doctorate from Universiteit Eindhoven.

E. Glenn Lightsey, Associate Professor of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, has been named an AIAA Associate Fellow, effective 2006.

J. Tinsley Oden was notified that he will be awarded the Doctor Honoris Causa degree from Ecole Normale Superieure Cachan (ENSC), France.

The Department of Energy (DoE) announced recently that the Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences (ICES) at The University of Texas at Austin will be awarded a $1.2 million research grant on computational modeling of multi-scale phenomena.

The National Science Foundation has awarded a grant of $1.1 million to a team of researchers at UT Austin and M.D. Anderson Cancer Center (MDACC) in Houston to develop computer-simulation-based methods that could significantly enhance the effectiveness of laser therapy for cancer, particularly prostate cancer.

Faster, Cheaper, Better, Smaller, and Smarter: These are the goals that a group of UT students are striving for in their design and fabrication of a one kilogram pico-satellite.