For 50 years, Dr. Byron D. Tapley, principal investigator of NASA’s Gravity Recovery and Climate Experiment (GRACE) mission and professor of aerospace engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, has been an educator, a researcher, and a visionary who has made unique and significant contributions to the field of aerospace education and space geodesy.

Venkat Raman has been selected to receive the National Science Foundation CAREER Award, which recognizes promising young faculty members.

Thomas  Hughes was elected a foreign member in the Mathematics section of Italy’s Lombard Institute, Academy of Sciences and Letters.

Hans Mark will be honored with the 2008 General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award from the Space Foundation for more than 50 years of impact and leadership in space policy and the space industry.

Thomas Hughes delivered the 2007-2008 Newmark Distinguished Lecture at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.