Thomas J.R. Hughes, an innovator in computational mechanics, has been elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors given to a scientist or engineer in the United States.

Professors Ivo Babuska, Thomas J. R. Hughes and J. Tinsley Oden have been selected as Fellows of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) for their outstanding contributions to the fields served by SIAM.

Thomas J. R. Hughes has been awarded the 2009 Theodore von Karman Medal by the Engineering Mechanics Division of the American Society of Civil Engineers.

Jeffrey Andrew Mikeska passed away on April 16, 2009 at the age of 25, after a lifetime of beating the odds.

Mary Wheeler was selected to receive the SIAM Theodore von Karman Prize.