Wary Wheeler has been selected as a winner of the 2009-2010 W. A. “Tex” Moncrief, Jr. Simulation-Based Engineering and Sciences (SBES) Grand Challenge Faculty award.

Philip Varghese has been appointed chair of the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics at The University of Texas at Austin.

Leszek Demkowicz has been awarded the Olgierd Cecil Zienkiewicz Medal by the Polish Association for Computational Mechanics (PACM).

Leszek Demkowicz was named the recipient of the 2009 Computational and Applied Sciences Award by the United States Association for Computational Mechanics.

Daniel Torczynski, an aerospace engineering senior at The University of Texas at Austin, has been chosen as a Fulbright scholar.