Chad Landis has been selected to receive the American Society of Mechanical Engineers' Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award for outstanding contributions to the mechanics of active materials.

Aerospace Engineering junior Miguel Cruz has been selected to receive a scholarship from the Hispanic Engineer National Achievement Awards Corporation.

David S. Dolling has been named Dean of George Washington University’s School of Engineering and Applied Sciences.

The department welcomes two new faculty members this semester: Dr. Jayant Sirohi in the Structural Dynamics Area and Dr. Charles Tinney in the Fluid Mechanics Area.

Grant Rossman, an aerospace engineering junior, has received a scholarship under the NASA Aeronautics Scholarship Program.