1950

  • The Experimental Aerodynamics Laboratory was founded by Milton J. Thompson in the Defense Research Laboratory to perform research on supersonic boundary layers at speeds five times faster than sound.

1951

  • The Department of Engineering Mechanics granted its first doctoral degree to Robert Felgar.
  • William H. Shutts joined the department faculty.

1952

  • Dr. Eugene Ripperger joined the department faculty.

1953

  • Sigma Gamma Tau, the honor society for aerospace engineering students, started a chapter at the University of Texas at Austin.
  • The Container Research Laboratory (later the Structural Mechanics Research Laboratory) was established under the leadership of J. Neils Thompson.
  • Joseph Dalley and Raymond Staley joined the department faculty.

1955

  • NASA astronaut Alan Bean graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Aeronautical Engineering. He later became the fourth man to walk on the moon as lunar module pilot on Apollo 12, man’s second lunar landing.
  • Joseph Dalley, Raymond Staley, and Dr. Vance Moyer joined the department faculty.

1958

  • The Engineering Laboratories Building (later the W.R. Woolrich Laboratories) was constructed.

 1959

  • The Department of Aeronautical Engineering was renamed the Department of Aerospace Engineering.
  • Kenneth Rathbun and Drs. Phil Ferguson, Byron Short, and Shao Yuan joined the department faculty.

     

Explore Our History

   1920s    •   1930s       1940s       1950s       1960s       1970s       1980s       1990s    •   2000s